Let’s Talk: Water Drop Photography!

While creating my series of water drop photos I wanted my project to focus on all the different shapes that water can take, to show how fluid it can be, and add a splash of colour to make the photos more interesting. This was a long process.

This involved the use of several pieces of equipment, and honestly a messy setup. The drip kit which was provided to me by my college, this is a kit that involved a container of water, a dropper, and a device which controls the size and speed of the droplets as well as how many droplets it releases. The device connects to the container of water/dropper. and the camera you are using which times the shutter speed and the flash in order to capture the photo in time. These kits can be found online or can be substituted with a pipette or plastic bag with a small hole, a fast shutter speed, and a whole lot of patience.

With water drop photography there are three different kinds of water drop shapes you can capture. A normal Droplet which is the line of water made after the droplet hits the water’s surface, the crown which is created by a circle of water that rises after the droplet hits, and the mushroom which is created using two droplets of water – the first to create the droplet and the second to hit it creating the splash. Combining different settings on the camera and different water droplets allows you to be more creative with the photos even before photoshop. Using different liquids can also help, just ensure there are no bubbles in the (martini) glass or container of water before you snap the photo.

For this project, I was inspired by photographers such as Corrie White and Richard Mohler

Equipment:

  • Cannon Camera 50D
  • Drip Kit
  • Martini Glass
  • A Container to catch any spilt water
  • Plastic board for the background
  • Water or any other liquid
  • Food colouring
  • Camera Tripod
  • Clamp Stand for the Drip Kits water container
  • Two or more lights
  • Cloth or something to clean up with

Through the entire project I scheduled 8 photoshoots; The first two, to test out the equipment and get used to the settings for the different style of waterdrops. The remaining 6 I focused on different water drop shapes, one shape per photo shoot, and then testing different liquids like milk instead of water and colours mostly blue, greens, and reds.
I had a white plastic board to use as the background which I covered with a sheet of colour plastic to add more detail to the photo. Using the settings on the drip kit controller like a clock 1 – 12 I adjusted them until I found the right settings, I added a colour which contrasted with the background and would stand out in the photo – this colour I put in the drip kit container and left the water in the martini glass clear and filled to the top. Once everything was ready I spent an hour or more with each photo shoot capturing over 100+ photos adjusting the settings slightly ever so often to see how they would change the image.

Photoshop

Once I finished my photoshoots and had a good set of images which could be edited and made into my final pieces I took 3 from each different shape and colour and focused my editing on the tones of the image, using the healing brush tool to clear up any blemishes in the background that didn’t add to the image or drew focus away from the water drops. I then adjusted the dark and light tones using the curves tool, changing the saturation slightly to add or take away from the colours and sometimes changing the colours completely with the colour balance settings and the toners until I found the settings which I thought created the best image. After this, I used the rule of thirds to crop the photo and chose to finish editing.

View A Collection of My Final Pieces From This Project Here

 

Leave a Reply

